Favourite songs

This is a great song by a band called Black Lab, called Keep myself awake.  (I like this album cover, but I dunno if this song is on this album, so check first)

51oczuyty4l

I really like this song for times when I’m feeling moody or dreamy or any time, really, but it’s particularly good for when you’re feeling the way I feel now.  Kind of disconnected and weird and lost and not fully there.  It’s great for that because it’s sort of abstract, it’s about something, but it’s also about not being able to understand something.  Being so truely connected to something without being able to understand or stay constantly connected.  It’s a beautiful song.  And I know that’s not how you spell truely, but it really should be.  It’s how I spell truely.

So, without further ado, I give you Keep Myself Awake by Black Lab.

I hate to talk like this
I hate to act as if
There’s something wrong that I can’t say
I have this dream at night
Almost every night
I’ve been dreaming it forever
It’s easy to remember it

[Chorus]
It’s always cold
It’s always day
You’re always here
You always say
I’m alright
I’ll be okay
If I can keep myself awake
Keep myself awake

I get up early
I look around me
Can’t help but wonder what you mean
Cause when I’m sleeping
I’m so deep in it
So much more real to me
Closer than reality

[Chorus]

Keep myself awake
Keep myself awake

I get up early
I look around me
I’m buying coffee by the pound
When I’m sleeping
I’m so deep in it
I can’t keep myself awake

Keep myself awake
Keep myself awake
Keep myself awake

c924168f3a9509685b199bed2b171c70

Leave a Reply

